ISO has a number of awards that recognize the contributions being made to international standardization.

  • The Lawrence D. Eicher Award recognizes excellence in standards development and is open to all ISO and ISO/IEC technical committees.
  • The ISO Next Generation Award recognizes young professionals from ISO members who are championing sustainability-driven standardization and the value of partnerships.
  • The ISO Excellence Award rewards the achievements of ISO’s technical experts and is open to any individual nominated in the capacity of expert, project leader or convenor in a committee working group.
Close-up of a robotic arm being tested by an engineer with virtual reality headset and joystick.
ISO awards
Lawrence D. Eicher Award
This award recognizes the significant contribution and superior performance of an ISO technical committee or subcommittee.
ISO awards
ISO Next Generation Award
Are you aged between 18 and 35? Find out more about ISO's new award for young standardizers.
Cuckoo-clock mechanical movements hang following assembly on the production line at the Burger Group gearmaker and automobile component factory in Schonach, Germany, on Monday, Feb. 26, 2018. The scramble for qualified workers has become an existential issue for companies across Germany, which are offering enticements ranging from overseas sojourns and ski outings to subsidized housing and sausage platters. Photographer: Alex Kraus/Bloomberg via Getty Images
ISO awards
ISO Excellence award
The ISO Excellence Award has been created to reward the achievements of ISO’s technical experts.

ISO/DIN essay contest for young standardizers in developing countries

Under 35 and passionate about standards?

Enter the ISO/DIN competition essay contest for young standardizers in developing countries.

This award helps to encourage young professionals in developing countries working for national standards bodies to engage in international standardization and to raise awareness of the importance of standards in promoting safe and sustainable economic development.

Sponsored by DIN, the German Institute for Standardization, and held every two years, the award offers the opportunity to spend time at both DIN in Berlin, Germany, and the ISO Central Secretariat offices in Geneva, Switzerland, to get invaluable exposure to the development and management of International Standards.


2016 winner

Majd Majed Shatnawi

Majd Majed Shatnawi

Jordan Standards and Metrology Organization, Jordan

Read her winning entry [PDF]
Watch the  video 

Past winners

2014 - Ms Ester Williams, Jamaica
2012 - Mr Amwayi Omukhweso William, Kenya
2010 - Mr Wilfred Fanokuhle Mdluli, Swaziland
2008 - Mr Victor Ryan Biran, Trinidad and Tobago


See what else ISO does for developing countries.